Another one bites the dust

A dirty little boy...and his son

The running has been going great guns for the past few weeks. Lots of back to back runs ranging from tempo/marathon paced 10k’s to 8 mile hill sessions and LSRs up to 24 miles. I was starting to get a good feeling about the up-coming marathon and as the HR had gone as low as 138bpm for an 8 minute pace over 8 miles I thought I might be on for a good time (you can see where this is going, can’t you?).

Until I woke up this morning.

When I awoke this morning I was wondering who had lodged a golf ball in my left tonsil. I wasn’t too worried about it as I thought it was just a bit too much mid-week vino and a bit of dehydration that could easily be fixed with a pint of water – FAIL (as they say on twitter)

A quick trip to the GP and €70 later I had 10 days of antibiotics and a sick note for work. As the marathon is 25 days away I’m not too worried as plan B was a fun run and I certainly have enough done for that.

As Grellan is pacing the 3:30 group in the marathon I now have an excuse to drop off this group if he goes on a glory run.

I was talking to someone later this afternoon who told me she was just getting over the same thing and the ‘talk’ is that it is down to the volcanic ash in our atmosphere.

I’d like to do the normal tabulation of running and have a bit of a chat about my machine gun bunker, sorry, house but I am flattened and haven’t eaten all day (except the porridge this morning) and the task of putting the kids to bed feels like the last 6 miles of a marathon!

3 responses to “Another one bites the dust

  1. The hard work is done. You should be well over the golfballitis come marathon day and rearing to go! Positive mental attitude is all you need now (or failing that psychotic drugs)

  2. Just tie an elastic cord to Grellan’s back and I’m sure he will be happy to pull you round to a respectable 3.29:]

  3. Thanks for the good words. I think I may have ‘man flu’ as apart from the post on the blog yesterday I have been asleep for the past 24 hours. Hopefully it will be short lived. The doctor didn’t say I couldn’t keep running but he did advise on cutting the mileage back for this week (for once I agree with him).

Leave a Reply

