Training summary

Ok,

I’ve seen people who get up too early to go running and seem to be faster than me round off their training schedule by going through their training log prior to the event.

So, having just found the Garmin dongle and plugged it into my laptop I can reveal the figures.

Since my last marathon (Late October 2009) – Dublin I have run 997 miles.

Not all of those were marathon training miles but there was a 10 – 12 mile run every week during the low season.

Since I decided to train for the marathon in late February I have run 526 miles.

There have been

  • 5 x14 mile runs (4 in the build up and 1 in the taper)
  • 2 x 16 mile runs
  • 2 x 18 mile runs
  • 1 x 20 mile run
  • 2 x 22 mile runs
  • 1 x 24 mile runs.

May 2010 has been my biggest running month so far at 197 miles.

I normally can’t keep up more than 40 – 45 miles a week so I’m quite happy with that.

I just told my wife about this ‘great’ achievement and she said: how long did that take? (ans: 26hrs)

This was followed by a ‘picture – no sound’ moment where I was supposed to work out what was wrong with the situation.

Anyway, back to the training.

One of the other major features of this training cycle was the determined effort to work on the aerobic base as opposed to anything approaching speed. This meant that nearly all the running was done at or below 150bpm.

I hope that this will pay off with a steady (and reasonably) enjoyable marathon. I had decided not to fully commit to this one as the last 3 years of it were held in sweltering heat. Speed work would only have lead to an injury and may have been wasted.  This year looks like 14deg C and a bit of rain so it might go reasonably well.

The other thing I did more of this year was hills. In fact I would go as far as saying that I did as much on the hills as I did in the long runs  and I loved them. Nearly all the runs over 18 miles had some pretty steep hills in them and on top of that there was a weekly hill session of 7.6 miles.

Apart from that the running has been 4 milers, 9 milers and 10ks.

I really enjoyed the training for this race  –  to see the spring come in and the world start to grow again was extra special after the Baltic winter we had.

One of the highlights was a badly sugar depleted 22 miler where I ran into darkness in the countryside. To see the first swallows and then bats of the year come out and fly around your head with the smell of wild garlic filling your nostrils made it great to be alive and made me realise that, like a 2 year old boy with his willy, I will be forever fascinated with what running does for me (apart from fitness, that is).

So, if as previously, I get too jacked up on pre-race adrenaline, set off doing 8 minute miles at a 175hr and am walking by mile 16 I’ll still cross the line with a smile on my face (although I’d prefer to start off at 7:40 miles and a 140hr (as per training) and come home with a bigger smile).

The only thing I’ve learned from marathons is that, like the elephant driver, you are foolish if you think you are in control.

2 responses to “Training summary

  1. I cannot possibly figure out who you could have been talking about in the first paragraph and I’m mildly disturbed by the willy analogy, but I think you will have a great race on Monday. Plenty of training, no hot temperatures and hopefully a reasonable mindset.

    What could possibly go wrong!

  2. It’s all about the even pacing Richard and you’ve got the specific training done – no fast stuff at the start, leave that for the last 4 miles.

    All the best and see you on Monday.

Leave a Reply

