Quaker Graveyard

Before I get onto this post I have to ask the spammers of the this world: do you use focus groups?

I mean, I would consider myself to be someone who should be getting spam for running shoes, cheap red wine, car parts and maybe power tools. I think that fits my focus group profile.

What I am not is some flaccid, dwarf cocked rolex watch lover.

Anyway – on a completely different point – A quaker graveyard.

Today I was in Counties Offaly and Laois in the middle of Ireland. I was there for work and managed to sneak in about 6.5 miles running on some bog roads. All part of the ‘work-life balance’ .

One of the places I had to visit was a water treatment plant in a small village called Clonaslee at the foothills of the Slieve Bloom mountains. This water treatment plant is pretty important as it’s the main source of drinking water for the town of Tullamore but enough already about all the work stuff. You’re probably at work while reading this so I don’t want to guilt trip you any more than you feel already. If the guilt of shirking from your work is getting to you just pause here. Now pick up a piece of paper, wander down the corridor studying it, stop at someone’s desk and discuss the football then take a piss and come back and start reading again – you deserve the break!

Now, Clonaslee is all very Ballykissangel and is a great place for the country wedding vibe but up the road a bit is a much smaller little village – 2 churches, a pub, a shop and a school called Rosenallis.

I had read about this place extensively and had it on my list of places to see for a long time. The reason for this, as the blog title would suggest, is because it has a very, very old Quaker graveyard – or the resting place of the friends. The oldest one in Ireland.~I have a thing about graveyards. If I’m ever in a strange place you’ll find me wandering around the graveyards of said strange place. I think you can find out a lot about the living by looking at the resting places of the dead. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not weird about it – I just find it restful and a complete distraction from the noise of life.

I found the graveyard after a bit of driving around and after parking up I grabbed the camera and headed off to the graveyard. It was one of the most amazing spaces I have ever been in. Quaker graveyards are unique in that all the headstones are the same, and have been for the past 300 years. They are all square slabs of limestone with rounded shoulders and the most simple of inscriptions – name, date of birth and date of death. Maybe a bit about whether you were someone’s wife, son, father or whatever and everyone gets their own headstone – the one year old baby, the 90 year old granddad.  It appeals to the inner desire for order and simplicity and the concept that we’re all equal in death – the total opposite of the head stones you’ll see in Brompton or Pere Lachaise.

So, after a nice wander around I decided to take a few photographs – only to find that my camera battery was empty.

So here are some shots of the Quaker graveyard in Cork (right opposite the bus station on Capwell Road)

 

Quaker resting place - Cork

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Same again

 

 

 

 

My other spam possibility is

 

Leave a Reply

