Be honest and fear not

But you'd better wipe your feet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The taper for the run on the 24th is going well. I am convinced I have severed a nerve in my left foot and have plantar fascitis in my right foot. My heart rate for easy 4 mile runs is at least 15 bpm above the same pace for a 32 mile training run.

I am cranky(er) than usual and am staring at the beers in the fridge like a teenager window shopping on a school tour in Amsterdam.

All perfectly normal.

The main reason for the blog post is to show you the photograph above.

This is the threshold of not a Presbyterian redemptorist hall,  not an alcoholics anonymous meeting hall (arguably the same thing), not even a public house, no, this is the threshold of a hardware store in a tiny village in Co. Clare called Enistymon.

I would be lying if I said I remembered it from the mid 1970’s when we holidayed near here but I do remember it from a stag party I was on sometime in the mid-1990’s that passed through here.

I remember staggering down the street with the rest of the slightly insecure men and seeing the image.

15 years later I crossed the threshold and I feared not.

I came away with 3 things from the shop:

2 jute mats for my back door (he knocked €2.50 off the price) – that was one thing by the way.

The knowledge that he sells 3 mats a week -rain or shine.

The knowledge that he sells a kettle a day – although he had sold 3 kettles the previous day so he wasn’t too worried about not selling one the day I came in. We had a conversation about how things have changed and how nobody repairs anything any more and how ‘everything comes from China’.

Globalisation is everywhere, even in Enistymon.

Be honest and fear not.

Leave a Reply

