Some Xylophone Jazz

If you were more interested in colouring pens and crayons than ladies (or men) at any stage between 1977 and 1993 and you grew up on one of the two islands off the coast of Europe you will have passed many an afternoon watching the late great Tony Hart and Morph do things with toilet roll tubes and sticky tape and pipe cleaners that were a constant wonder.

If you are still more interested in colouring pens and crayons than the ladies (or men) then, in our society, we call you an architect.

At some point in the proceedings Tony would have a little musical interlude where some mellow jazz xylophone music was piped into your living room as you watched a whole host of children’s efforts being displayed on-screen.

Most of them left you with one of two thoughts:

  1. I could do that. If I wanted to. I just don’t.
  2. No way, his fuckin’ dad did that for him!

Anyway, with a smart phone full of photographs and a hard-drive on the laptop about to burst into flames with the gigabytes of photographs on it I thought I’d allow you to sit back and enjoy the fact that not only am I an average runner I’m also an average photographer.

None of the shots will have that ‘I took this with the f-stop at 1.8 and a 50mm fish eye on and I post-processed it with GIMP to deepen the shadows’

I mean, I might have actually done that to take the naked look of white Irish skin off the photographs but I won’t bore you with it.

If you’re ‘my friend’ on facebook then some of these will be like sitting through the holiday snaps so apologies from the start.

I will try to keep the words to a minimum so you can ‘admire’ the photographs and I will try to post several times a day.

Summer in Cork - June 2011

Leave a Reply

