Black Diver

I suppose I should explain the photographs.

I normally take between 3,000 – 4,000 photographs a year.

As an aside it appears that  images is the du jour word for photos in the same way that a stakeholder engaging with social media is the new way of saying I read the paper and watch the news.The digital era re-writing our dictionary.

They normally sit on a shelf on the desk next to my bed. Once in a while I’ll trawl through them to cull a 100 or so decent images.

By committing to stick a few up on the blog I’m forcing myself to review the 2013 images before they get so old the kids don’t recognise themselves.

I won’t bore you with shots of my kids eating pizza (although that might actually

Black diver

Black diver

happen as we do seem to eat  fair bit of pizza) but the more thematic ones should appear. Somewhere between the visual version of what I write and a John Hine postcard.

As a kid we used to call comorants black divers. If you’re scratching your head on this the clue is in the name.

This shot shows one from the penultimate day of 2013 at the Atlantic Pond next to where I live. He is trying to dry himself in the weak winter sun. Good luck with that!

One response to “Black Diver

  1. Proust (not Marcel)

    Lovely photo and… Happy New Year!

    Elena x

    >

Leave a Reply

