Ultra marathon aftermath

If the last post was the blogging equivalent of taking War and Peace to the toilet with you this one will be like reading the back of the shampoo bottle as you sit and stink.

The physical recovery has gone well insomuch as I haven’t really done any running with the exception of a few outings to see how damaged my calf is (which included a pretty nippy (for me) 7:25 paced 5.5 mile leg of the local Marathon last week).

In the lee of all of these events your mind goes into a motivational lull as you digest the accomplishment of the task. The trick is not to sit in the lull for too long nor to climb out of it too quickly. the former leads to  loss of conditioning (you get fat) and the latter to delayed recovery (you prolong your injuries).

From a mental point of view I recovered within a week. I had been contemplating the event for quite some time (you might have twigged that from the length of the report ;-)) so I was psychologically in the right place for it and with the exception of the excessive heat for the first 20 – 25 miles I never felt like the event was beyond me.

An interesting thing to note is that the round number of 100km has caught the attention of all the people around me. Even though I would consider that I’ve completed races that have taken more out of me from an physical and mental perspective (2013 Wicklow Way Ultra, 2012 Highland Fling, 2011 River Ayr Way) I am constantly approached by people marvelling at the 100km feat.

I am now in the space where I am mellow and happy. The psychological equivalent of having re-heats in your hands after being outside in the cold with no gloves. Now I just have to use this to move onto something else to occupy my spare brain power.

The only downside is that as I allow my calf to recover I am dripping with energy. The dog, the front and back gardens, the kitchen floor, the family – they don’t  know who this person is. I suspect they’ll be looking for the perma-exhausted version back soon.

2 responses to “Ultra marathon aftermath

  1. Wish you were my neighbour — I’d get you to mow my backyard.

  2. Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

Leave a Reply

