The shoe dilemma

Running is the only area where you’ll find husbands with as many pairs of shoes as their wives (or women with as many pairs of sports shoes as dress shoes). It’s the ultimate fetish of the sport.

The problem with running shoes is that you only know if the pair you’re currently wearing are right for you at the point where they need to be replaced and by that stage the running shoe company has invariably revised the shoe to make it slightly different from the model you’re wearing.

And that leads to a sort of unexplainable anxiety that can only be compared to a fussy eater finding lumps in their mashed potatoes. It’s anger mixed with fear and a strange feeling of inadequacy.

Now that I’m starting to come to the end of the pair of New Balance 1400s I’m wearing (my right foot metatarsals are constantly sore and after nearly 6 months for €50 I don’t think they owe me anything) I need to start thinking about a shoe that will work for some long runs.

I already have a new pair of the 1400s ready to go but they are a real racing flat with practically nothing to them except a thin foam sole and some laces so after about 13-15 miles (about 2 hours of running) they start to remind your legs that they can’t do much more in the way of cushioning. What I need is a pair of sofas that will allow me to put down much more time on my feet.

Now, up until August 2014 I would have opted for a traditional running shoe with more technology in it than the moon landings but my experience with the minimal shoes (no pain apart from the bruised metatarsals) has me looking further afield.

I think, after reading this review I’ll move on to try a pair of HOKA Cliftons – the brothel creeper of the running shoe community.  That said they seem to have a narrow toe box so I’ll size up to a 12 and treat this as an experiment.

If this works in terms of a minimal shoe with plenty of cushioning it should help me in making it to the start of the Passatore with minimal pain in my legs (which is another way of saying that I hopefully won’t pick up an injury).

Leave a Reply

