Head cold

All is well on the running front.

The Hokas are settling in with some toe blistering and some anxiety around their longevity (alarming wear on the mid-foot of the shoe). I think the toe blister is down to the socks and the mid-foot sole wear can be fixed with something called shoe-goo which is an insider secret I was completely unaware of.

You live and learn.

The most disconcerting thing about the Hokas is that they tend to change the internal balance of your running systems. I don’t mean inner ear balance but rather the larger systems.

Let me explain: In normal circumstances your systems (aerobic system, bio-mechanical system, digestive system, mental governor) have a hierarchy that can be linked to your innate natural attributes and how much training adaptation they have undergone. So, for me, in a marathon for which I had done no training the first thing to cause problems would be my legs as they would need more adaptation than the rest of the systems – I’ve run marathons before so I wouldn’t have any psychological concerns about it, I have a decent aerobic base and  could probably eat enough to get around the course. For someone else this balance would be different depending on previous experiences (lets call that training) and their natural ability.

The high level of cushioning that the Hokas provide means that muscle pain and joint stiffness either during the latter stages of a long training run or in the hours or day after the run are greatly reduced. This gradual build up of joint and muscle discomfort has always been a good indicator for me of training limits and adaptation progress. without it (not a bad thing per se) I am unsure what to use as an indicator of training load.

Part of me is tempted to spaz out and do an Augustus Gloop out on the running and hit some never before dreamt weekly target.  Longer term goals are just about stopping me from taking this option at this point.

As the blog post would indicate I have become a bit of a snot factory over the last couple of days. My work desk has all the makings of a hypochondriac’s medicine cabinet with vitamins and hot lemon drinks mixing with my stash of hotel biros.  Like most people with a running addiction I have used this head cold to test what it feels like to run with a head cold.

In running circles we use the word test to justify doing something that is either highly irrational or stupid (often both and the same). So we might test running in a snow storm in a vest and shorts, or test running 20 miles with no water, or test running in the dark with no head torch or test crapping in a hedge in suburbia……I think you get the picture.

Hopefully it will clear up soon so I can stop testing what it feels like to run with a head cold (not great is the answer).

 

Laters

 

3 responses to “Head cold

  1. I test also. Laughed out loud at your post. Excellent observation. Thanks for cheering up my day.

  2. Yep, Shoe Goo has probably tripled the life of my Cliftons. Good stuff. Alternate with less cushioned shoes to avoid the ‘balance’ problem.

    • I bought some shoe goo the other day and I assume you just layer a bit onto the unprotected mid-foot foam to stop it wearing away like a school eraser. I suppose I’d better youtube it but if you know different let me know!

Leave a Reply

