20 steady

I have a draft post in the back room of this blog about the pros and cons of travelling first class when inter-railing with kids (mainly cons) but I thought I’d break the monotony of the hobo holiday snaps with a quick running update.

After my 100km sweating in the sun adventure in Italy I went through my usual lull of falling in love with red wine and out of love with running long distances. Eventually this lull comes to an end and I decided that in the absence of any races to enter I’d better do something about the running. So I decided to see if I could get to a point where a 20 mile run once a week was as straightforward as walking the dog. It’s important to note that straightforward isn’t about speed but more about it being “just a thing” or “not a big thing”.

After hovering in the high teens for a few weeks on my long runs I’ve just completed 3 weeks of easy 20 milers at the weekends. I think a few more weeks of this and I’ll enter a few local low key marathons just to stretch my legs and make the effort worthwhile. If I had something resembling a plan I’d use these marathons as a springboard to something longer but I’m not great on planning when it comes to running.

 

One response to “20 steady

  1. ThomasBubendorfer

    “I’ll enter a few local low key marathons just to stretch my legs”

    You sure have made the complete transition to the ultra runner mindset at some point in the last couple of years.

Leave a Reply

