Silent Training

There’s a school of thought that says that the best training for long distance running  is the silent training you commit to.

Silent training I hear you mumble – that must be when he shuts up about how much the running means to him.

Yap, yap, yap, yap yap, door to my soul, blah, blah, blah….

Well, I wish it were so.

No, silent training is the term given to the non-running aspect of the training. The proper sleep pattern, the eating the right food, the balance between exertion and recovery.

I’ve been having loads of that recently………….which is another way of saying I’m only doing about three runs a week and doing lots of relaxing. I’m feeling fine with this as the three runs include a 16 – 20 mile run each weekend which is enough to keep my hand in the game.

As part of my relaxing regime  I went off to sleep in a tent with the family and last weekend.

Well worth it.

Sight_2016_06_04_215141_111

Silent Training

SInstagramCapture_5833d0f0-24e0-4d90-83ab-0972a07e6f66

One response to “Silent Training

  1. Thanks for a good (and easy to read) post Richard. Silent training isn’t working so well for me at the moment as the silent bit is too big.

Leave a Reply

